Telegram was recently updated with a rather interesting new feature: the ability to delete your chat history with someone on both your phone (nothing new there) and your contact's (which is more unusual). Today we'll explain the simple steps you need to follow to do this. Let's get started.
How to delete your chat history on your interlocutor's phone
Telegram is undoubtedly the preferred communication alternative for those who don't like WhatsApp, although it's also true that more and more people are combining both services on their smartphones to use interchangeably with different contacts - or when WhatsApp is down , of course... ahem.
Precisely because of its popularity, we wanted to tell you about an option that was announced just two weeks ago, allowing a user to delete their entire conversation history with another person, not only on their phone but also on the contact's device . This effectively completely erases the chat record for both participants.
Want to know how it's done? The steps couldn't be simpler - they apply to both the Android and iOS apps:
- Open your Telegram app on your phone and find the chat window you want to clean.
- Enter it and press the three dots in the upper right corner.
- Choose "Clear browsing data«.
- When the action window appears, check the box "Delete also for X" - where X is the name of your contact with whom you have had chat conversations.
- Tap on the red message “Delete history”. Ready.
As you can see, it's quite quick and easy to do, and it will only take a moment and a few clicks. Ideally, your contact should know that you're going to delete the entire history, although this is simply a matter of fair play on our part. In reality, you don't need the other person's consent to perform this action at any point, undoubtedly the most controversial (and unpleasant) part of this whole story.

Whether you like it or not, the person on the other end can decide to delete everything you've talked about with them without any prior warning or any way to prevent it. According to Telegram, the goal is to protect user privacy , which, in the service's words, is "sacred." Allowing someone to perform these kinds of actions gives them complete control over all your private chats on a whole new level, the company explains.
The option to delete the conversation history is only available in chats involving two people ; in groups, the function is only operational for the user who executes it, without affecting the other members, who will continue to have all the conversations.
What do you think of the new feature announced by Telegram? do you think it will be really useful for user interactions?