How to delete messages sent on Facebook Messenger

Facebook Messenger delete messages

If your quick fingers have ever let you down on messaging apps, Facebook Messenger 's new feature could put your mind at ease in those unexpected moments of frustration. The social network has announced changes to its instant messaging service, now allowing users to delete sent messages.

How long can you delete a Facebook Messenger message?

Delete Facebook Messenger message

The company has indicated that users will have a period of 10 minutes to delete the message, so, if that period is exceeded, they must swallow their own words (pun intended). This message deletion function will be available in both individual chats and group chats, and will allow us to delete the message sent in two ways:

  • delete for you: The message will be deleted only on your phone, so your chat window will stop showing it. However, the other person on the other end will still have the message on their screen.
  • Delete for all: Your sent message will disappear completely, and all users will see a message informing that a message has been deleted. You will not leave clues of your missteps, but there will be indications of it.

We remind you again that the message can only be deleted as long as less than 10 minutes have passed, so forget about deleting past conversations and old outbursts. You will not be able to do anything about your past.

To delete a message, simply press and hold the message bubble you want to remove . A menu will appear with the options to copy, delete, or forward, and that's where you can delete the message you want to erase. Confirm whether you want to delete it only on your phone or on the phones of all your contacts in the chat, and then confirm the process.

Available on iOS and Android

The new feature has begun rolling out to users worldwide and is available on both the Facebook Messenger app for iOS and Android . It's a feature many users have been missing, as it's a standard feature in most messaging services, from Telegram to WhatsApp itself , which, ironically, is owned by Facebook. This new feature will offer users greater flexibility in case of errors, especially those with business accounts who manage their business through the social network.

In case of giving a wrong answer to a client, the user can quickly correct the error without fear of causing a bad impression to the user on the other side of the chat, so we take into account the weight that Facebook currently has in the social relations of the people, a small margin of correction does not hurt anyone.


Add as preferred source in Google