Google will bring incognito mode to Google Maps and that's good news

incognito mode google maps

Google announced at its Google I/O event that its Maps service and app will feature an incognito mode . While no release date has been specified, it's expected to arrive soon. We'll explain what incognito mode is and what advantages it would bring to a service like Google Maps.

Incognito mode, privacy and goodbye to your bubble

Activate incognito mode Google Chrome

Incognito mode is a popular feature in many apps and services. It's a way to achieve anonymity and, incidentally, step outside our comfort zone. These two features are more useful than you might initially think.

When you use a service on a recurring basis, there is a lot of data that is associated with your profile, for example: the time of use, searches, times we click on an element, etc. With this information, the next time you access they will be able to offer you recommendations related to your tastes, better search results or related content.

Therefore, if for some reason you want to see a video of kittens and not therefore be receiving suggestions to hundreds of the same videos, the incognito mode is the solution. It is also very useful for when you are using a device that is not yours and you do not want to leave traces of your activity.

However, the most interesting use is that it allows you to step outside your comfort zone . When you use this mode, the recommendations usually based on your browsing history disappear. This allows you, depending on the app or service, to discover new content.

Incognito mode on Google Maps

Location is one of the most sensitive pieces of data you can share with any service. Based on this information, they can offer you personalized advertising such as nearby restaurants, entertainment venues, shopping options, and much more.

Google knows this data is important to them, but they're also concerned that users might feel their data is being compromised. Therefore, as part of their crusade for privacy, Google will offer the option to activate an incognito mode, similar to those already available in Chrome or YouTube, for example.

When you start this mode, the application will not record any data regarding your location. Therefore, as long as it remains active, you can easily move wherever you want without fear that your movements will be recorded. Of course, also without receiving possible notices with useful information.

How to delete your location data

Clear Google data

Deleting your location and activity data from Google isn't a complicated process, and we've already explained it here . Basically, it involves accessing the Activity Controls section of your account . From there, you can access the different sections it offers: Web & App Activity, Location History, Device Information, Voice & Audio Activity, YouTube Search History, and YouTube Watch History.

For each of the aforementioned options, we can activate or deactivate tracking , also schedule automatic deletions at certain intervals, and of course, manually delete each record.

This can not only be done from the web, you can even do it from your mobile.

In short, the activity log is useful but the features to choose how you want to use each service are very necessary. Luckily, little by little they are permeating the companies and they are added. Even so, it is the user who must be the first to become aware of the importance of their privacy.


Add as preferred source in Google