How to erase and hard reset a PS5 to restore factory settings

PlayStation

Whether it is because you want to do an extreme cleaning, to erase the SSD disk completely or because you want to resell your PS5 to someone, the process of resetting the factory settings will be a task that you must do no matter what. So, if you are thinking of doing it, we leave you with all the necessary steps to complete the process.

Step 1 – Save games before deleting (optional)

The first thing you should do is make sure that all your games have been saved in the cloud. Because PS5 does not allow you to save saved games on an external USB drive, you must sign up for a PS Plus subscription to be able to take the games that have been saving on the console for all this time to the cloud.

It is somewhat strange, since on PS4 we could take our data to a simple USB memory, but the truth is that the new console does not allow it to be done, so be careful with that.

To save all your saved games and configuration profiles you must go to the following menu:

  • Settings > Game Settings / Apps & Saved Data > Saved Data (PS5)

Step 2 – Save all your games and saves as a backup (optional)

Another option is to make a complete backup of all the data you have on the console, including game installations. This will help you to copy all the content from your current PS5 to another PS5 that you have later.

To proceed with the creation of the backup, you must connect a hard drive to one of the console's USB ports and access the following menu:

  • Settings > System > System software > Backup and restore > Back up your PS5

Step 3 – Erase all data from PS5

When you have everything saved and saved and you are sure that everything you are going to delete is safe or you simply do not care, it is time to do the complete deletion of the console. This wipe will cause your PS5 to hard reset, leaving it blank with the initial setup menu, the same one you saw when you first booted up the console.

To completely erase your console, you must access the following menu (remember, you will lose EVERYTHING, and there will be no going back):

  • Settings > System > System software > Restart options > Restart your console

Add as preferred source in Google